Organic analysis and references

Profile

Every day we use many different products and services without even thinking about it, ranging from food to plastics, cosmetics and cleaning agents. We trust manufacturers of these products to comply with recommended health guidelines. In exactly the same way, we rely on clinical laboratory testing when it comes to making decisions in the healthcare system.

In the “Organic Analytics and References” division, our services enable industry, the research sector and administrative bodies to perform reliable, accurate and traceable measurements. In order to ensure that these measurements are comparable, we provide traceability to internationally agreed reference values.

To guarantee high-quality and efficient analysis, we continuously advocate the development of new analysis methods and the further development of existing ones. The “Organic Analytics and References” laboratory is accredited alongside the “Chemical tests and consultancy” division, under standard SN EN ISO/IEC 17025:2018, accreditation number STS 0119.

In order to keep pace with developments regarding the state of the art, we are continuously enhancing our measuring capabilities. To that end, we conduct various research and development projects.

Services

We examine a wide variety of analytes, for example:

  • various process contaminants
  • polyaromatic hydrocarbons in food
  • volatile organic compounds, for example allergenic fragrances
  • biocides and preservatives
  • Per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS)
  • Mycotoxins
  • Phthalate

On behalf of the Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office, we run reference laboratory for process contaminants in foodstuffs. (Link)

We perform analyses relating to chemicals legislation on behalf of the Federal Office of Public Health.

Our clients are mainly administrative units of the Swiss Confederation, but our experience in traceable analysis (also trace analysis) is available to all interested parties on request.

Using reference materials traced to the SI system (“metrologically traceable”) is the method of choice in order to guarantee the comparability of measurements, and thus  their quality, in the long term. In this context, we position ourselves as a reliable point of contact and service provider, and are happy to provide information about the added value of metrology.

Consultations
If you have any questions about our services or require a consultation, we will be happy to be of assistance. Contact us with no obligation on your part.

Research and development

We keep our measurement facilities and expertise at the forefront of technology with the aid of research and development projects. This enables us to continue offering the required services and promoting innovation in the years to come. At the same time, we work with other metrology institutes, universities, administrative bodies and industry.

In the context of the EURAMET research programmes, we are also involved in European projects.

 

Our R&D focal points are:

Metrology in food safety 

Contaminants are materials which unintentionally end up in food, e.g. during the production process. They are undesirable due to their toxicity and require special attention during analysis. Thanks to our highly accurate measuring devices and procedures, we can guarantee the traceability of contaminants in food/food matrices based on internationally agreed reference values. This is made possible, on the one hand, with various projects for the Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office (FSVO) and on the other hand in our function as reference laboratory for process contaminants.

Last modification 26.02.2024

Top of page

Contact

Federal Institute of Metrology
Laboratory Organic Analysis and References
Lindenweg 50
3003 Bern-Wabern
Switzerland
T +41 58 387 01 11
references@metas.ch

Print contact

https://www.eschk.admin.ch/content/metas/en/home/fabe/chemische_und_biologische_referenzen.html

Analyse organique et références

Portrait

Nous utilisons tout naturellement divers produits et services au quotidien, des denrées alimentaires aux détergents, en passant par les matières plastiques ou les cosmétiques. Nous sommes en effet convaincus que la fabrication de ces produits implique le respect de valeurs indicatives pertinentes en matière de santé. Nous nous fions également à nous-mêmes en matière de santé concernant les décisions reposant sur des analyses relatives à la médecine de laboratoire.

Les prestations de notre laboratoire d'analyses organiques et de références nous permettent d’effectuer des mesures fiables, exactes et traçables pour l’industrie, la recherche et l’administration. Nous soutenons la traçabilité aux unités de référence harmonisées sur le plan international afin que ces mesures soient comparables mondialement.

Nous nous engageons constamment à développer des méthodes d’analyse existantes, mais également à mettre en œuvre de nouvelles méthodes d’analyse, afin de garantir une analyse efficace et de qualité. Le laboratoire d'analyses organiques et de références ainsi que le domaine Essais chimiques et conseils sont accrédités selon la norme SN EN ISO/IEC 17025:2018 (numéro d’accréditation STS 0119).

Nous développons constamment nos possibilités de mesure afin de suivre la technologie de pointe. De plus, nous exécutons divers projets de recherche et de développement.

Prestations

Nous contrôlons un large éventail d’analytes, par exemple:

  • divers contaminants de procédés;
  • les hydrocarbures aromatiques polycycliques présents dans les denrées alimentaires;
  • les composés organiques volatils (COV), par exemple les substances parfumées allergènes;
  • les biocides et les agents conservateurs;
  • Substances per- et polyfluoroalkylées (PFAS)
  • Mycotoxines
  • Phtalate

Nous exploitons le laboratoire de référence pour les contaminants de procédés dans les denrées alimentaires sur mandat de l’Office fédéral de la sécurité alimentaire et des affaires vétérinaires (lien)

Nous effectuons des analyses conformément à la législation sur les produits chimiques, sur mandat de l’Office fédéral de la santé publique.

Bien que les unités administratives de la Confédération soient nos principaux mandants, notre expérience de l’analyse métrologique (également l’analyse des traces) est aussi, sur demande, à la disposition de toutes les personnes intéressées.

Les matériaux de référence traçables (traçables sur le plan métrologique) au Système international d’unités SI sont la meilleure option pour assurer la comparabilité des mesures et, ainsi, leur qualité, à long terme. À cet égard, nous nous positionnons comme des interlocuteurs et des prestataires fiables et nous donnons volontiers des informations sur la plus-value de la métrologie.

Conseils
Nous sommes à votre disposition pour toute question que vous pourriez avoir au sujet de nos prestations ou pour un éventuel conseil. N’hésitez pas à nous contacter.

Recherche et développement

Nos installations de mesure et nos compétences sont à la pointe de la technologie grâce aux projets de recherche et de développement. Ainsi, nous pourrons, à l’avenir également, offrir les prestations requises et encourager les innovations. À cet effet, nous collaborons avec d’autres instituts de métrologie, des hautes écoles, l’administration et l’industrie.

Nous participons également à divers projets européens dans le cadre des programmes de recherche d’EURAMET.

 

Nos priorités en matière de R&D sont:

Métrologie et sécurité des denrées alimentaires 

Un contaminant est une substance qui se trouve de manière accidentelle/involontaire dans une denrée alimentaire, par exemple durant le processus de production. Une telle substance est indésirable en raison de sa toxicité et elle requiert une attention particulière lors des analyses. Grâce à nos instruments et à nos procédures de mesure d’une extrême exactitude, nous assurons la traçabilité des contaminants dans les denrées alimentaires/la matrice alimentaire aux unités de référence harmonisées sur le plan international. Nous assurons cette tracabilité d'une part avec divers projets pour l'Office fédéral de la sécurité alimentaire et des affaires vétérinaires (OSAV) et d'autre part dans notre fonction de laboratoire de référence pour les contaminants de processus.

Dernière modification 26.02.2024

Début de la page

Contact

Institut fédéral de métrologie
Laboratoire d'analyses organiques et de références
Lindenweg 50
3003 Berne-Wabern
Suisse
T +41 58 387 01 11
references@metas.ch

Imprimer contact

https://www.e-doc.admin.ch/content/metas/fr/home/fabe/chemische_und_biologische_referenzen.html