Lasershow

Measuring laser shows accurately

In order to prevent eye damage at laser shows, adherence to threshold values is essential. Until now, measurements have been costly and only carried out in individual cases, as a result of which the threshold values are generally exceeded. The Laser Show Risk Analyzer (LASRA) provides organisers and authorities with an important tool with which to assess laser shows and compliance with the Ordinance to the Federal Act on Protection against the Risks associated with Non-Ionising Radiation and with Sound (O-NIRSA). 

Although fascinating, laser shows are not always harmless. In order to avoid serious eye damage, threshold values have been stipulated by law and are required to be adhered to by laser show operators. Laser show measurements have demonstrated that the threshold values are often exceeded many times over. Moreover, the number of laser shows has significantly increased in recent years on account of the declining prices for suitable systems.  

Real-time measurement

It is very difficult to assess the risk potential of a complete laser show because the maximum exposure is very limited in time and location. For this reason, the Federal Institute of Metrology (METAS) has developed an assessment system in collaboration with the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH): the Laser Show Risk Analyzer (LASRA). LASRA measures the planned laser show in real time at the venue. Should the show exceed the threshold value, solutions can be sought in conjunction with the organisers. Minor technical adjustments are often sufficient to minimise the risk and adhere to the O-NIRSA threshold values. In this way, safe laser shows can be achieved and bans avoided.
The LASRA hardware consists essentially of a photo sensor which initially measures the intensity of the lasers used. The LASRA software then directly analyses the program used to control the laser show. From this, LASRA determines whether the threshold values are being adhered to. A measurement of a laser show makes sense before a planned event, so that the hazards are recognized early and the show can be adjusted if necessary. 

 

Last modification 06.07.2021

Top of page

https://www.isc-ejpd.admin.ch/content/metas/en/home/fabe/optik/lasershow.html

Lasershow

Mesure exacte des spectacles laser

Afin d'éviter les lésions oculaires pendant les spectacles laser, il convient de respecter les valeurs limites. Jusqu' à présent, les mesures étaient compliquées, seulement ponctuelles, et un dépassement des valeurs limites était difficile à prouver. Avec le Laser Show Risk Analyser (LASRA), les organisateurs et les autorités disposent d'un instrument important pour l'évaluation des spectacles laser et le respect des prescriptions de l'ordonnance relative à la loi fédérale sur la protection contre les dangers liés au rayonnement non ionisant et au son (O-LRNIS).

Les spectacles laser sont fascinants, mais pas toujours inoffensifs. Afin d'éviter les lésions oculaires, les valeurs limites prescrites par la loi doivent être respectées par les exploitants de spectacles laser. Des mesures effectuées sur des installations laser ont montré que les valeurs limites sont souvent largement dépassées. En outre, les spectacles laser se sont multipliés ces dernières années, en raison entre autres de la baisse du prix des systèmes utilisés.

Mesure en temps réel

Il est difficile d'évaluer le potentiel de danger d'un spectacle laser complet car l'exposition maximale est très limitée dans le temps et dans l'espace. C'est pourquoi l'Institut fédéral de métrologie (METAS), en collaboration avec l'Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP) a développé un système d'évaluation: le Laser Show Risk Analyser (LASRA). Le système LASRA permet de mesurer et de contrôler dans sa globalité le spectacle laser prévu sur place, dans la zone réservée au public. Si le spectacle dépasse les valeurs limites, il est possible de chercher des solutions avec les organisateurs. Souvent de petites adaptations techniques suffisent pour minimiser les risques et pour respecter les exigences de l'O-LRNIS. Il est ainsi possible d'organiser des spectacles laser sûrs sans enfreindre une interdiction.

Le matériel du LASRA consiste essentiellement en un récepteur optique, qui, dans un premier temps, mesure les caractéristiques de puissance du laser utilisé. Dans un deuxième temps, le logiciel du système analyse directement le programme qui gère le spectacle laser. Le LASRA peut alors déterminer le dépassement des valeurs limites dans la zone réservée au public. Il est judicieux de mesurer un spectacle laser avant l'événement prévu, afin que les risques soient identifiés à temps et que le spectacle puisse être ajusté si nécessaire.

Dernière modification 06.07.2021

Début de la page

https://www.openegov.admin.ch/content/metas/fr/home/fabe/optik/lasershow.html